super.mom

 

 

Just like a certain friend of mine, I google things when I am not sure what they are…..

So…I typed: “characteristics of a superhero” in the google search bar. I clicked into the first website and someone who claimed himself a huge Batman fan answered:

female-1289269_12801) Extraordinary powers and abilities.       2) Courage.        3) A strong moral role.

Well, I have not watched a single Batman before, so I cannot tell if these three traits are valid for Batman. But someone els
e pops up into my mind when I keep reading more about these three characteristics.

My mother, who has been a working-mom ever since I was born, has extraordinary abilities to balance between her career and family. Due to her shift schedule, I did not get to see her as much as I wanted to. The routine during my elementary school was to finish all of the homework before mom returned home from work and had her checked my work. I remember the times when I did all my math wrong, wrote the same sentence many times because I fell asleep while doing it, did the wrong chapter, etc…. It sounds funny now when all these memories flash back to my mind, but I don’t know how mom could have tolerated these dumb mistakes after working an entire day. (Well, to be honest, she did give me some punishments to make sure I remember not to repeat the same mistakes…) Even now, she is still doing the same thing – working in her professional role during the daytime and in the evening when she got back home- she will be the loving mom who cooks and does all those things for us.Not sure how she can manage all of that, but she can.

My mother…is super cautious..like she would avoid driving when she can, she would sometimes make copies of the same document because she is afraid that she will lose it, and she would actually read the policy information when she installs a software. In those little things, she seems pretty timid / “細膽” and we’ll make fun of her… But in all the other big things, she is both courageous and full of wisdom. (I hope you are reading this mom, because those are things I won’t really SAY it out loud).  Ten years ago, with many unknowns in mind, she and my dad made the decision to walk by faith and brought us all to this side of the world.  God tells us to “Be strong and courageous. Do not be afraid or terrified because of them, for the Lord your God goes with you; he will never leave you nor forsake you” (Deuteronomy 31:6). To me, that was a bold move. To me, that is very courageous. Through the ups and downs in life, she perseveres and holds the family together.

My mother has a very clear cut principle of what is right and wrong. Ever since we were little, she taught us to be a responsible and trustworthy person. There is no doubt that my moral values are strongly influenced by her. Most importantly, she constantly reminds us to be closer to God, pray to God, and have faith in Him. She does not expect her children to have perfect grades or are skillful in sports/arts/ musical instruments. Her only and most important expectation for us is to have the moral values that are after God’s heart and will. She walks the talk and she stands by her values despite the changes she faces in life.

I don’t really know how to end this post. There are just too many things to say about my mom, and I am not sure if you guys are interested anymore. So before I go on and on about my mom, I am going to end this here.

Shout out to you, Mom! You are great! Thanks and love you!

 

 

grace c.

born and raised in hong kong. moved to the U.S when i was 13. always in the hunt for good food. love to sing. learned guitar 3 times and still cannot play well. currently working as a social worker for little ones who need more support in their development & i love my job! :)

Leave a Reply

