Share the struggle

path of faith

What if?

What if I don’t pass the final? What if I fail the class? What if I can’t retake the class? What if I can’t stay in the program?

Yep, I agree. That’s a whole lot of “what if’s” and I can sincerely say those “what if’s” and perhaps many others were crowded up in my mind last week.

I don’t know what may be going through your mind right now… “I went through that!” or “If I were you I might not share it so openly with others…”…?

I have been thinking about self-image lately after discussing it in bible study and one of the questions was why people might refuse to share about their own struggles or failures. Yeah.. think about it, why? Of course, there are countless reasons as to why, but my answer would be: thick face skin. No, I’m not talking about skin thickness literally, more like metaphorically. More like talking about our self-esteem. Are we so conscious about how others view us that it actually hinders us letting others know we are struggling, we need help, we want some comforting? Ha, to be real honest, I had to do some mental talk with myself before deciding to share my struggle with you. I believe it’s important that I share so that others can see how God walked through the struggle with me and perhaps become an encouragement for.. you.

I didn’t do well in the first two midterms of the class and test grades were pretty much what made up the course grade. As finals were approaching, all the “what if’s” began to surface. I literally opened up the calculator and calculated how many points I needed to make the cut. Of course, doing that just made me even MORE worried and couldn’t focus studying for the test.

“In his heart a man plans his course, but the Lord determines his steps.” – Proverbs 16:9

This bible verse came to my mind. It’s great that we plan ahead for our education and  career, but God is THE one who planned our life even before we were born and He knows exactly what we have to go and struggle through before reaching the finish line. The decision is on you as to how you will get through the obstacles.

Try to let go, and let God be in the center of your life.

I say try because we would often return to this same situation and ask a lot of “what if’s.” But really, try…

“Consider it pure joy, my brothers, whenever you face trials of many kinds, because you know that the testing of your faith develops perseverance.” – James 1:2-3

Share with others, pray together.

God is like our GPS… We can seek for His help 24/7 (and don’t need to worry about signal problems:D ). Seek for God’s plan and not ours, for God’s plan is better than ours. Yes, the results may not be how we want them to be.  But wait patiently to see where God wants to take us.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

